Edinburgh New Town   -   Robert Kirkwood Map

First New Town

Central Section


First New Town  (Central Section)

including the foot of the Mound

Detail from map of Edinburgh New Town  -  Kirkwood, 1819  -  First New Town (central section) 

  Reproduced by courtesy of the National Library of Scotland.    Click here for further info, and for the NLS maps web site.

Click here to see all other sections of this map:

    Kirkwood Map of Edinburgh, 1819  -  Key to sections.

Please click an arrow below to move to a
 section of the map that is close to this one.
 (The scale may be different.)

Move west     Move east     Move north-east

Click here to see the whole map and aerial view:      Zoom-out


First New Town

Central Section

Detail from an aerial photograph of Edinburgh  - XYZ Digital Map Co, 2001  -  First New Town, central section

Map + Aerial View

The First New Town of Edinburgh includes the regular pattern of streets bounded by:

-  Princes Street (to the south)

-  Queen Street (to the north)

-  Charlotte Square (to the west)

-  St Andrew Square (to the east)

Between the two squares, there are three streets running North-South:

-  Castle Street

-  Frederick Street

-  Hanover Street (in this map, joining Princes Street opposite the Earthen Mound.

This section of the map runs approximately from Castle Street to Hanover Street.

When this map was drawn, the National Galleries at the foot of The Mound (The Earthen Mound) had not yet been built, and West Princes Street Gardens had not yet been drained.  The gardens are shown as the North Loch.


Kirkwood Map  -  1819

Whole map        Sections        Streets + Buildings