Niddrie Marischal Arms

Darts Team


The Niddrie Marischal Arms Darts Team
being presented with the Langham Trophy, 1974

BACK ROW:  ?,   ?,   T Comb, S Ogilvie, M M Burgess, A Brown,  B Cleary, ?

FRONT ROW:    Bailie D Brown,   Dougie Brown,   C Herriot,   C Bain,   R McGovern,
A Young, R Slight, P Smith, R Dawson, A Tulloch, J Cowe, T Young, T Lumsdun

St Bernard's Football Team  -  1952

  Reproduced by courtesy of Evening News (possibly).   Click here for web site details.


Enlarge this photo

     Niddrie Marischal Arms Darts Team - 1974 


Niddrie Marischal Arms Darts Team  -  1974


Thank you to Andy Tulloch, one of members of the Niddrie Marischal Arms Darts Team for sending me this photograph of his team's victory over the Bunch o' Roses team in the final of the Langham Trophy.

Andy wrote:

"The Niddrie Marischal Arms Darts Team won the Langham Trophy, a '9s Competition', in 1974.

It was played at the Newcraighall Club where all teams in the Portobello Darts League participated.  The trophy was presented by the then Bailie David Brown.

I remember I was on a training course with Scottish Gas in Uddingston at the time, and was refused time off to attend the finals.  So, after the course finished for the day I sneaked off home so I could play in the match, then stayed at my mums and got the first trains back too Uddingston in the morning.  I was only a few minutes late.  The lads on the course covered for me, saying I was at the digs and not feeling too well."

Andy Tulloch, Craigmillar:  July 16, 2009


Andy also sent me two photos of The Whitehouse Darts Team, taken in 1974.  Please click on this Sports Clubs link to find them.